Just trying to RELATE…


MeeSH: Take 3

Posted in PR Praticum by meshae on January 11, 2010
Tags:

With graduation only a few short months away, I have been forced to focus on what it is I want to be when I “grow up.”

Being in Professor Barbara Nixon’s class has aided in my quest. Her classes have forced me to step outside my box and explore social media in a way I was not initially comfortable with. I love it now, though. This is my 3rd time making an “About Me” post, so I’m going to change it up a little and talk about who I am now.

I am 22 year old Shequilla “Meesh” Hankerson. I am a Public Relations student at Georgia Southern University, a university I’d like to think is one of the BEST in the nation.

Upon graduating in May, I plan to pursue a Master’s Degree in Sport Management. As a matter of fact, I am currently searching for a dual MBA and Sport Management program, so if anyone has a suggestion, feel free to share it. My goal is to make to the NFL within five years of receiving my Master’s degree. I want nothing more than to work in the marketing department for the NFL.

Besides being super busy with my post-graduation plans, I have been engulfed in my presidency…of my sorority of course. Over the past few weeks, I’ve been able to see how many people really dislike or misunderstand the Greek community. My personal mission for the rest of the semester is to help foster some change and shed light on the positive aspects of being or “going” Greek.

I have also recently joined an initiative through Georgia Southern’s Office of Student Leadership and Civic Engagement that brings college students into local schools to help non-English speaking students with their coursework. For anyone not familiar with Statesboro, Georgia, there is a large Hispanic population along with several other non-English speaking populations. These students barely speak English themselves and have to sit in a classroom where they can not comprehend or understand. I am very excited about helping out. Serving has always been a passion of mine.

For the most part, I can say that I am just enjoying my last semester in college. Take it all in. Enjoy it while it lasts. These are the best times of your life. All those things have been said to me.

So, I’ve enjoying the things I love most. I love being a big kid, hence the NERF wars my friends and I have been having for the past few weeks. I enjoy modeling. By the way, if you’re in the area, GSU’s Black Student Alliance presents “Blaqshion 2010: Once Upon a Blaqshion” on February 6 at 7pm in GSU’s Performing Arts Center. Blaqshion is the organization’s annual fashion show that allows students to model/design in a large-scale production. As a model coach, this large-scale production has been my life for the past few months. It’s sure to be a great show. You should come.

I am fun. I am outgoing. Overinvolved at times. Loving. Ambitious. Most importantly, I am Meesh…all the time. Welcome to my world.

Leave a Reply

